Holy Orders


Ordination is the sacramental ceremony in which a man
becomes a deacon, priest, or bishop
and enabled to minister in Christ's name and that of the Church.
There are three ordinations in the Sacrament of Holy Orders:
diaconate, priesthood and episcopal.
The ordination ceremony includes various rituals, rich in meaning and history,
e.g., prostration, laying on of hands, anointing of hands,
giving of the chalice and paten, sign of peace.
Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders -- as a deacon, priest or bishop --
are consecrated in Christ's name "to feed the Church by the word and grace of God."
Contact the priests in the Rectory if you have any questions about vocations.

Frequently Asked Questions
(click your questions)

Are there three different ordinations?
The Ordinations are for three specific and distinct positions:

Transitional Diaconate – This is the ordination to the diaconate for men who are becoming priests.
Permanent Diaconate – This ordination is for single or married men who have no intention of becoming priests, but have been called in a special way to serve the people of God as deacons.

Priesthood  This is the ordination for men called to be priests.

Episcopacy  This ordination is for the priests who are called forward by the Pope to serve the people of God in a special way, as Ordinaries (the head of diocese) and as the auxiliaries – the bishops who help the Ordinaries.

How old do men have to be to become priests?
The ordinary age requirement for Ordination to the Priesthood is twenty-five. However, the process begins earlier. Depending on the Diocese or Religious Order the process can begin as early as college age or after college graduation.

How do I know if I am being called to the priesthood?
If you feel that you are being called to the Permanent Diaconate or Priesthood, it is important to take the time for prayer and discernment. A Spiritual Director can help you along this path.